HST110 Reflection

When I signed up for my 3 hour history class, I was a little nervous, but was excited to learn more about history. College history classes teach you things that you did not think about in high school. I did not know what to expect in a 3 hour college class. All I knew about the class was that I would be taking it with members of my cohort. I had taken a history WI class last semester so I knew I could handle the writing. During the Spring semester of my freshman year I took HST110L, “The American Experience.” The professor, Dr. Jones, focussed on the importance of immigration throughout American history.  In the class, we covered topics regarding all different races and ethnicities moving to America. Dr. Jones truly created a sense of  an inclusive American society.

So far, I have learned so much in Dr. Jones class. From the Irish Potato famine to Latin American labor union, the class covered many different forms of immigration. In addition just to the immigration, the class taught us the motives for creating barriers between people, which we know now is a very bad practice. Oppression has targeted many groups of people, and we must ensure that we are being proactive when it comes to protecting the oppressed.

In the present day, leadership MUST be inclusive. We live in a world where people are consistently stereotyped based on their gender, race, or sexual orientation. We must know the history of immigration and the history of oppression to ensure that people in the present do not repeat what had already happened. In America we face the challenge of racism, sexism, and other cultural differences. Taking this class has been eye-opening. Moving forward, it important to continue to preach inclusive leadership. With the conflicts occurring in the world today, we must understand that immigration is going to happen. America will be taking in immigrants.. Or maybe America will not be taking immigrants. Whatever situation arrises within American politics, we must understand as a nation that people over generations have been oppressed. We as Americans need to break the streak of oppression.

Leave a Reply

