A Semester Reflection

As a second semester freshman in the Leadership Institute, I have had some leadership experiences that have transformed me into a better leader. Being only a freshman, I know I still have a lot of space to grow and become a better leader; however, I feel that I have a good start. This year, I have had the opportunity to work within the Leadership on my LEADteam, Grad Ball. In the past I have worked in banquet halls and restaurants, so I am super excited to continue using my expertise to put on a wonderful event. As a member of the LAS family, it is very important to stay connected with the upperclassmen. Staying connected allows students to continue to bounce new ideas off one another.This fall I have also attended Spark Leadership Experience and this event allowed me to learn more about my personal leadership style. Many people are leaders, however, every leader has a different leadership style. By attending Spark, I was able to really get a feel of what type of leader I actually am. Attending Spark also helped me build some of my weaknesses as a leader, weaknesses that I now work to improve everyday. Lastly, I have also been elected to my executive board of my fraternity, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, and this experience has allowed me to expand my leadership to a new community on campus. Being a freshman on executive board of my fraternity has been my best achievement this year. It is rare that a freshman can come into a large group of guys and have gain enough respect to be elected to a position like that. Moving forward I hope to advance through the positions of my fraternity and continue to make a positive influence on my guys in the fraternity.

In the near future  I am looking forward to joining new clubs and RSOs as well as participating more in my current activities such as Greek Life and the Leadership Institute. Being a Leader on this campus is needed. Student organizations and clubs drive involvement and recreation here at CMU. It is important for me to continue to use my leadership skills to move into other leadership roles that I am not familiar with. As a leader, it is important to always be open minded and to learn new styles of leadership. Throughout the year so far, I have learned to be way more open-minded. Growing up as an only child, I was exposed to a set pattern of thinking. Once I have arrived in college, my ideas and philosophies have been challenged by professors, peers, and advisors. Being so new to college, and honestly being a new leader in a college setting, I have been challenged to change some of my styles and perspectives. As a constantly growing leader, I am constantly trying to better myself. To me, that is what being a leader is. Everyday, I try to become the best leader I can be.

Leave a Reply

